Press Release: Office of Jean Lambert MEP

16th June 2006


Green MEP Condemns Latvia's Defiance Over Gay Rights

Green MEP Jean Lambert has today condemned Latvia's refusal to introduce a law banning discrimination at work on grounds of sexual orientation.

Today Jean said it had been made 'crystal clear' that Latvia would be required to introduce the law when they joined the European Union in 2004 and commented; "This law is part of the discrimination measures under the Treaty of Amsterdam and as part of the EU Latvia has no choice but to comply and introduce such policy.

"Latvia's actions come just a day after the Parliament passed a resolution to end homophobic and racist violence, just one aspect of the daily violation some are subjected to, demonstrating Latvia's complete disrespect and support for Europe, our policies and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) communities.

"I have urged the Commissioner to ensure that laws banning discrimination towards the LGBT community are stringently implemented and upheld across Europe, to which he has agreed. With legal action already taken against 4 member states that failed to maintain policies against the discrimination of race and ethnic origin, I look forward to the Commissioners decision over Latvia."


For more information please contact:
Morwenna Holland, Media Officer
tel: 020 7407 6280 or 07813149812

Notes to editors:
Jean Lambert: In October 2005 Jean was named MEP 2005 for Justice and Human Rights. Jean was first elected Green Party Member of the European Parliament for London in the 1999 European elections. She was re-elected in 2004. She is one of nine MEPs representing London and one of two UK Green representatives in the European Parliament.

European Parliament resolution on the increase in racist and homophobic violence in Europe: For the full text of the resolution please visit

Four member states referred to the European Court of Justice for their failure to satisfy the requirements of Directive 2000/43/EC include: Germany, Luxembourg, Austria and Finland.